## Probate Court of Clark County, Ohio CHANGE OF NAME (MINOR)

WEB SITE: <u>www.probate.clarkcountyohio.gov</u>

- 1. <u>The papers you file must be typed</u>. Fill in all blanks except the case number and hearing date.
- 2. The Present Name and Name Requested on the top of each page should include the child's first, middle, and last name.
- **3.** The minor must be a resident of Clark County for at least one year prior to the filing of the application.
- 4. The Probate Court clerk is not an attorney and cannot answer questions about your name change. If you have not lived in Clark County for at least one year, your application will be dismissed and your filing fees will not be refunded.
- 5. A copy of the minor's birth certificate must be filed with the forms.
- 6. Filing fee \$89.00 (see clerk for info as to cost adjustment if filing applications for more than one child in the same family) Note: No Credit or Debit Cards accepted. If notice is required by Certified Mail, additional court costs shall be assessed.
- 7. If you are attempting to change the name of a minor, the parents of the minor, including the alleged father, must consent to the name change or receive legal notice. The non-consenting parent must receive this notice regardless of the amount of contact with the child or the amount of support paid. If a parent does not consent, the applicant must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the name of the minor should be changed. This may require witnesses and evidence to be presented at a hearing. If you have any questions as to how to present your case, you should consult with an attorney.
- 8. The Court will complete the Notice of hearing on Change of name, the Entry Setting Hearing, and the Entry ordering the change of name.
- 9. You are responsible to take the legal publication (Notice of Hearing on Change of Name) to a newspaper of general circulation in Clark County to be published one time at least 30 days prior to the hearing date. You must

pay the additional cost of publication and bring with you on the day of the hearing proof of payment of the publication bill (a receipt) and the Proof of Publication that the newspaper will mail to you. It is your responsibility to make sure that the legal notice is correct and completed properly. If you have questions as to how to obtain legal notice, you should consult with your attorney.

- 10. The child must be present on the day of the hearing.
- **11.** After the hearing, you will be given a certified copy of the entry approving the change of name. Additional copies are \$1.00
- 12. If the child was born in Ohio, send a certified copy of the Judgment Entry-Change of Name of Minor to the address listed below. They will attach this form to the child's birth record. If you desire a certified copy of the new birth record, send \$21.50 to: Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 15098, Columbus, Ohio 43215-0098. If the child was born in another state, contact the Vital Statistics office located in the state's capital.

Once a Name Change Application has been filed there will be no court cost refunds.